top of page
Search

When your cat dies two days before Christmas

Some people told me that Scilly became an angel. I do not want an angel. I want him here, next to me.

23 September 2018 19:12

Scilly

A year and a half ago "he left" one of the most important living things in my life. Scilly,, the kitten who was next to me for 17 years. A kitten unique, unique, always beside me in easy and difficult. Mostly in the difficult, as every time he was looking distressed, he came next to me and did everything to get my pain. He flinched over me, licking me, nodding. When the time was gone, it bled me gently as if she was telling me "enough."


His loss broke me. It has been so many months and there has not been one day not to bring it to my mind. But I think he lived 17 years, 17 wonderful years. And that a little comforts me.


One month after his loss I thought that even though I had another cat in the house, a snake would have to get a snake. Save one more of the way, live this happy in a home that will love it forever.


So I went down to the garbage and got a kitten that I cared for as a stray since the day it was born. He even got sick sometime in the cold because of cold and I was struggling to do well.


This kitten was only 10 months old. Shy, sweet, sweet, playful, and it looked very much like the Sylvester of the well-known children's films. So I told him Sylvester. But because the name seemed great to me, I called him Slywi. Sweet and shy Slivh.


Slivi, in time, proved to be the best animal in the world. He never did damage, never attacked the other cat, never bit us, never scratched us, never made any damage. It did not require anything. Only our company. E, and the food as well as a lot of us.


Of course I have never forgotten Snoopy. Scilvi did not replace him, he just took it and he was an institution in the house. What is an institution at home for us? But for these things everything is. In his eyes he saw the great gratitude he had left the rubbish every day and he came home. There are some animals that the gratitude they feel is painted in their eyes. They are lighted when they look at you. That is why I do not object. I have seen and felt it.


At the beginning of the month, we also embellished the tree and without breaking a gem. We also got the similar poses in front of the camera. And everything was perfect. Not totally perfect but about.


Two weeks ago, Scilly suddenly stopped appearing for food. When a cat who plays crazy in the kitchen when he's just crazy in the kitchen suddenly seems to have no interest in food ... then something is running.


Without losing a day, I went to the vet. In the examination he saw that something was wrong. And the exams started. These tests, which until the answer comes out, live with an inconceivable anxiety.


The next day I was told that the kitten had an incredibly low hematocrit, and before any response, he needed a blood transfusion to get out at night. Yes, it was 9 in the evening and I had to find a compatible donor. The truth is that two things you are thinking at that moment. Or go crazy or find a donor. I did the second. The first transfusion took place in the night.


Two days later, the exams went out. His terrible anemia had an official reason. Viral leukemia. And immediate second transfusion. I have hated as much as any word immediately after all this. How terrible is the life of your beloved animal depends on a word?


Race. The second donor was incompatible. It happens. The third was fortunately. Second transfusion in the night.


Unfortunately, Slivi's body despite transfusions and proper treatment did not respond. We did everything. The hematocrit was so low that everyone was wondering how he lived. Every day I visit him in the clinic, even twice, to take him in and feed him. He did not eat if I did not go. And she ate only from my palm.


We decide to give a third chance with another transfusion. Same here. The fourth donor is incompatible. But the fifth was.


Nor did the third transfusion do anything. Things, as they were told, were irreversible. They even advised me to take him home. Be in his own environment and take his medication there. Does the hematocrit rise.


So it happened. Slywi came to his house. To go there Christmas.


It goes without saying that because of the terrible anemia, he could not walk very long and all day he was lying down. What unbelievably disintegrated me in all of this was that despite my weakness and my whole situation, when I touched him, he was crazy like a madman. And the night we slept together was churning. And it always looked into our eyes.


Somehow that was the way of a few days. Scilvi was weak, had no appetite to do anything. But he ate normally. Of course always from my palm. Even so I was happy. It is important that an animal has an appetite to eat.


Two days ago, while he was showing something was going on, he stopped to go to the toilet and eat. In the his veterinary clinic once again measured the hematocrit. Lower than the other times. Unfortunately. Sometimes what you fear is coming much faster.


Returning home, I noticed that something strange existed in his behavior. And while standing, he fell down. She started to cry and shout. And he was trying to hide behind a pillow. His eyes did not focus anywhere. I was crazy. I get him as a line for the doctor. Walk the same. A grotesque odor. A scream from scratch. A cry that I will never fet. It was the most shocking cry I've ever heard of in my life. And let me live deaths both of men and of animals. And he fell under the seat. I just got to the clinic. I stopped and went to pick him up. He was gone…

I apologize for all these hard details. On the one hand, I want to share it, on the other hand I want to tell you that, however painful it is for you, live with your pet. Do not leave it in a clinic because it's good days of celebration or because you can not take care of it. When we bring an animal home, we have to eat the whole pack. Not just the good and the pleasant. But also difficult. What hurts and fights us. What can make us pieces.


As for Scilly, I find it incredibly unfair to leave so early. It was not two and a half years. He did not get to live, to be happy. He did not get to get what he cared for. The first year of his life gave him a survival struggle in the rubbish. And then she found her home ... It may be life but I insist. It is unfair.


Love your pet too. So much so that there is no more. You do not know how much they will be next to you. Some people told me that Scilly became an angel. I do not want an angel. I want him here, next to me.


P.S.: A big thank you to the friends who were at these times next to me giving me without their thoughts the animals for transfusion. Make your donor pets. You do not know how important a thing is.


Source:petpet.news

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page